The Reset Button
Updated for2026-27
The Reset button is only available for Individual Teacher accounts. Teachers and administrators who are part of a school or district MathFactLab account can reset students to take the placement test at any time using the Edit Student or Group Edit drawers.
The Reset button will be helpful if a teacher wants to have all their students take the placement test at any point in the school year. The Reset button assigns each selected student to the placement test and clears their previous levels from the Students tab. No data is lost.
All students, whether they have used MathFactLab in the past or not, will be given the Placement Test the first time they log into their account for a new school year.
To activate the Reset Button:
- Start on the Students Tab.
- Select the students by either clicking the top checkbox or by selecting individual student checkboxes.
- Click on the Reset button.

- In the confirmation window, choose "Yes, reset all selected students."

Reset students will be assigned to the placement test. Their performance on the placement test will determine the level at which they will then be placed.
To reduce the likelihood that students are accidentally reset more than once, if some/all of the selected students have been reset in the past 45 days, you will receive a warning to make sure you wish to continue.

Resetting does not change the students' learning mode, required response rate, passing percentage, or other previous settings.
@zoho